top of page
Hi There

I'm Hannah! Welcome to my blog home! I home you enjoy your time here and come back often! Everyone and averything here means the world to me!

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

BEST

Excellence Award

loveblog

2016

Recent Posts

Lets Talk Wedding Dresses


(Vender Featured in video Blog: Gateway Bridal and Prom)

Hi everyone! I hope you are all having a great year and everything is going well! As a former bride I was always so lost at what I needed to do and what realistically everything cost! I feel like Planning a wedding is like the first day of work… that never ends. No matter how much research and training we have we still have no idea what’s going on or how its all going to work… the only thing we know is why we are there and what we are planning! This blog series is for you! I am going to walk you through planning a wedding and hopefully take some stress of your shoulders!! I am not in anyway a wedding planner; I am a Wedding Photographer and a former bride dedicated to taking care of my clients!


It is Wedding Dress Day!!!


If I could I would live inside a wedding dress salon! I I get so completely gitty and excited (you should have seen me with my sister in law when she was dress shopping.. I was totally geaking out)! When I cant go hang out in a dress shop I will totally watch ‘Say Yes to the Dress’ for hours!! From my own experience going dress shopping always surprises me of what I actually like on me! I always thought I’d wear a fun ballroom dress that was flowy and had LOTS of tulle, however when I tried on what I thought was my dream dress I didn’t feel or look the way I wanted until I tried on a trumpet styled dress! I never imagined my self in a fitted dress but when I saw my self I was in tears, I have never felt so beautiful in my life!


Wedding dress shopping comes with its own lingo, and the more you know about which dress styles flatter you, the easier shopping will be. Before you even set foot in a salon, read up on some of the lingo you'll encounter there: neckline, waistline, sleeve style, skirt details, fabric, finishes, train. Learn the basic dress silhouettes, and figure out which one will best suit your body.


There are different types of wedding dress styles! See below for examples!



(modest neck line styles below!!)




When shopping for your wedding dress (I cant stress this enough!) shop early! If you can, shop Nine to twelve months before your wedding date. That way you have about six months to spare for fittings. Unless you buy a ready-to-wear dress or a sample gown (which is what I did, my engagement period time was 2½ months… I am crazy I know!!), wedding dresses are custom-made. Once your dress arrives, it's going to have to be altered… usually several times… until it fits you perfectly. That said, many companies (especially in Utah, every dress salon is different speak with the salon about arrival dates if you are on a tight time frame) can (depending on the dress) turn a dress quickly around if needed. However, if you have less than six months, start shopping right away, flexible about your dress choice. When you are on a tight time frame avoiding weekends and evenings will be the best advice I could give you, you'll get more of the salesperson's time and attention during the weekday. Bridal salons do get insanely busy… especially if you're marrying in a popular wedding month.




Can we just take price completely off the counter with wedding dresses?!?! Do you think wishing on a star will work? While I was researching cost of wedding dresses I found this really cool site that gives you a guessament of what your dream dress will cost! So when your budgeting for your dress you can get a little bit of an idea of how much its going to be! Now remember bridal stores may surprise you, they could have the dream dress for more or less that what your planned! The site is just something fun to do. Don’t hold the wedding dress salons to this site!


http://www.costofwedding.com/index.cfm/action/wedding_dress.index


The average salon carries lines in the under-$1000 category, however other salons start at $3000. To Save time ask the salon their price ranges from before you make an appointment, doing that you will save so much of your precious wedding planning time!




Walking into a bridal salon know that every salon run very different. One salon may let you roam about and pick and choose your dress, others will sit you down talk with you see what you want and like and pick the dresses for you! If you are the type that likes having full control make sure you do research and find those salons that do allow you to roam and let you choose, however if you’re the kind that either doesn’t care or like to be pampered going to the salon that pick and choose for you will be the best option for you!


Your bridal salon will take care of you! No matter what direction you take, you will find that perfect dress you have been dreaming about! You will be the most stunning bride!


Cheers,

Hannah Judd



Preferred venders

Venders Involved

Photographer – Hannah Judd Weddings, Videographer – Cayly Bascom Photography, MUAH –- Elena Ochoa ECKO Beauty, Florets – Kaytee Stice – Roots floral design , Venue – Rush on Metro, Dress – Bitsy Bridal, Dress 2 - Gateway Bridal, Cake Designer – Annie Pugmire - Annie Cakes, Calligraphy - Dinner Menu’s and Ceremony back drop Shelbi Ghaderi – Opal.artistryslc, Suit – Allen’s Tux, Wedding Invitations – Shine wedding invitations, Model #1: Chau and Eric Merkley , Model #2: Katie and Luke Terry


bottom of page